Club History

1990/91 Club Founded by Dr. Gary Heilbron of HKU Law Department

1992/93 First Sandy Bay tournament

1999/2000 Sandy Bay player numbers approximately 350

2000/01 Sandy Bay tournament: 1100 children and 172 matches

2001/02 Nigel White takes over as Club Chair

2002/03 First club tour to Bangkok during ‘dry’ weekend

2004/05 Constitution changed to enable more growth

2005/06 Sandy Bay player numbers approximately 500

2006/07 First astroturf pitch laid at Stanley Ho

2007/08 Youth Section formed, Gary Seib Chairman

2008/09 Girls youth section started by George Mason

2009/10 Linked with HKCC, first pro coaches for youth rugby

2010/11 Sandy Bay tournament: 2700 children and 499 matches

2011/12 First Richard Hawkes Cup and Shield and Kim Lam Cup

2012/13 Win 4 out 4 minis age group cups in Bangkok

2013/14 Girls win Kim Lam Cup for the second time

2014/15 U13 dominate not losing a game all season

2015/16 Professional Head Technical Coach appointed

2016/17 Won Richard Hawkes Cup and Shield for the second time

2017/18 Sandy Bay international tournament: 3536 children

2018 HKCC Seniors joins Sandy Bay

2018/2019 HKU Sandy Bay Prems win Grand Championship

2020/2021 U12 Girls win Kim Lam Cup

2020/2021 U16G Division 1 League Champ winners

2020/2021 U16B Division 1 League Cup winners

2021/2022 U18B win Championship league.

2021/2022 U16 girls win both League and Grand Final.

2021/2022 U12B Plate Winners Richard Hawkes

2021/2022 U12G Plate Winners Kim Lam

2022/2023 U12B Richard Hawkes Plate Winners

2022/2023 Hysan Youth HK7s Cup

Winners U18G & U18B, U16Girls , U14B & U14G